Lubbock Dragway
July 10, 2004
By: Alfonso Acevedo Jr.

The Greatest National Past Time - Drag Racing

(Idalou, TX)

With only a slight advantage going into Saturday’s race, points leader James Walthall (Amarillo, TX) dominated in Super Pro and piloted his T-Roadster to victory. With a hefty purse on the line Walthall’s hole shot helped defeat Ty Casey’ dragster while Layton Garrett (Plainview, TX) advanced with a bye. In the finals, Walthall committed the lesser foul with a 10.34 (10.35) to overcome Garrett’s sleek `70 El Camino which went 10.77 (10.79).

In Sportsman, Cecil Johnson (Dalhart, TX) in his `69 Camaro was a new addition to the Precision Auto Winner’s Circle. Johnson coupled a .006 light with a10.83 (10.79) to beat Bobby Fira’s (Crosbyton, TX) .100-initiated 13.24 (13.29) from his `69 Nova. Dean Graham (`68 GTO) and Claton Pruiett (`72 Chevy Luv) were the class semis.

Two brothers from Crosbyton, TX. battled it out for all the marbles in Modified. Tony Guerrero in his `69 Nova edged out Chris Guerrero’s `82 Monte Carlo for the title. Larry Hobbs (Slaton, TX) was the lone semi-finalist.

Martin Rosalez (Lubbock, TX) galloped his `69 Mustang to the finish line over previous Street winner Lyndan Devin (Plainview, TX), in the semis. In the finals, Rosalez got the nod when Teddy North (Lubbock, TX) red-lit on board his `01 Mustang.

Coming into this seventh Jr. Dragster race three time winner and points leader Sonjia Cortez had to face off with younger sister Sara Cortez in the semis where Sara had the better reaction but broke out at the top end. Two time winner Mica Shipley (Littlefield, TX) made it a three win draw when Sonjia’s dragster broke and Shipley went on with a .067 light and a 10.537 (10.53).