Lubbock Dragway
May 14, 2005
By Alfonso Acevedo Jr.

(Idalou, TX)

Lubbock Dragway was able to squeeze in a race between severe thunderstorms and ten tornado touches across the South Plains.

In Super Pro, Larry Stokes' (Plainview, Tx.) powered his American made `67 Camaro over Ty Casey( Lubbock, Tx.) for the title. Casey, in his Nova, was going for win number two when he triggered the red bulb. Previous winner, Charles York made his appearance in the semis along with Milton Jordan.
Jerry Cottrell (Lubbock, Tx.) who has been on a winning rampage in Sportsman, added to his total with a win over Gary Metcalf's (Lubbock, Tx.) `67 Dodge. Cottrell recorded a .012 light and 11.000 (10.95) from his `72 Nova to Metcalf's .094 and 11.665 (11.66). Jack Ammons and Coy Franks rounded out the top spots.
In Modified, Kenny Wenzel (Levelland, Tx.) in his `87 Blazer made his second consecutive finals only to come up short on a devastating double break out. Alfred Hernandez (Sundown, Tx.) in his `73 Duster delivered with a 13.004 (13.02) to Wenzel's 11.722 (11.74). Mark Pena and Bobby Flagman were the semifinalists.
In Street Class, Lyndan Devin (Plainview, Tx.) in his `70 Fairlane would not be denied and defeated dominant Stacy Acevedo (Wolfforth, Tx.) in her `96 Mustang on his way to the Precision Auto Repair winner's circle. Bradley Gore was the lone semi.
After the Diesel smoke cleared their were three Duramax left. One belonging to Mike Pigg (Silverton, Tx.), another to his son Jon Pigg (Quitaque, Tx.), and past Street Class Champ Barbara Mayfield (Silverton, Tx.). In the semis, Mike Pigg red-lit to Mayfield as so many competitors before him have done just to try and get an edge. That edge translated into a hole-shot and a win for Jon Pigg with a .027 and 13.600 (13.20) to Mayfield's 14.760 (14.50).
The light would be the deciding factor in this heads up (8.13) Junior Dragster class final. The skilled competitors, Sara Cortez (Plainview, Tx.) and Heath Kiser (Levelland, Tx.), faced off. Kiser who's resume boasts the '04 NHRA O'Reilly Jr. Drag Racing Challenge trophy, was the victor over Cortez..