Lubbock Dragway
April 15, 2007
By Alfonso Acevedo Jr.

(Idalou, TX)

Racing weather is defined as any conditions other than wet, so Lubbock Dragway was full throttle for its second Summit Series Points Race despite the gusty head winds.  Rusty Rose and Alfred Hernandez fought their way back to the finals in their respective classes but this time they were rewarded with the Prize Money and bragging rights.
In Super Pro, Rose piloted his Dragster to victory over Charles McGoffin’s `67 Nova.  Both had near perfect identical lights but McGoffin was off his dial with a 12.160 (12.11) to Rose’s 7.915 (7.87) at 157.48 m.p.h.  Tony Shertz and Jeremy Smith were the class semis.
Jerry Cottrell powered his `64 Nova past the Mopar of Larry Schniederjan to win Sportsman.  Reaction to the Tree was the difference in the final.  Brad Gore and Steve Milam Jr. rounded out the top three.
Same class, second week, and once again two Dusters were in the finals.  In the semis, Hernandez in his `73 Duster ran a dead on 13.080 (13.08) to defeat Travis Waggoner’s 12.102 (12.10).  Gary Metcalf’s `72 Duster defeated Larry Schniederjan in a double-breakout.  An impressive .009 light earned Hernandez a spot in the Precision Auto Repair Winners Circle which left Metcalf with the runner-up spot.
By way of a starting line advantage Bo Novak, Lubbock Dragway’s 2006 Most Improved Racer, in his `95 Camaro coupled a .036 light and a 13.865 (13.85) to overcome Conrad Munguia’s `67 Plymouth for the Street win.  Making an impressive outing newcomer Nathan Leclear was the lone semi.
In Jr. Dragster, Katlyn Shipley got the automatic class title when Heath Kiser went -.005 red/pink.  In the semis, Kiser went .005 to the good to edge out Raegan Whitman.  Ashley Shipley was also a class semi finalist.
In the Diesel Class, Kevin Hendley picked up where he left off in 2006 when he wheeled his `01 F250 to victory.  John Woods in his `82 Chevy beat Bud Brushurs for a second place finish, and Mike Pigg in his 12 second Duramax also rounded out the top three.